Home/Peg Leg Smith/Peg Leg Liars Contest: Lies About Lies

Peg Leg Liars Contest: Lies About Lies

Peg Leg Liars Contest: A Night of Outlandish Tales and Unexpected Twists! (2023)

Peg Leg Smith Liars Contest is an annual event held since 1916 (excluding 2021 and 2022 due to Covid). The 2023 contest was held on March 4th at the American Legion Post 853 in Borrego Springs, California. This annual event celebrates the legacy of Thomas ‘Peg Leg’ Smith, a legendary gold prospector, by inviting amateur storytellers to share their tall tales of lost gold and other oddities. The only rule is that the story must be under five minutes and entirely fictitious.

The contest featured 20 talented contestants who spun their most outlandish tales, and the competition was fierce.

The running theme of the night was particularly unique, as most of the liars claimed to be direct descendants of the legendary Peg Leg Smith. This was quite suspicious given that historically, it was believed that Peg Leg Smith’s offspring all died in a catastrophic asteroid collision with the Earth. However, this tale only added to the fun and excitement of the night.

Source: Garth Sky Walker

After two solid hours of laughter and entertainment, it seemed that the libations had worked their magic, leaving many struggling to remember their own names. 

Let’s just say that everyone at the event, whether lying, drinking, not drinking, watching the liars, listening to the tall tales, or simply soaking up the atmosphere, were all happy campers! (slightly chilly and windy)

He Lied About Lying...

Our friend, Garth spun an incredible and outrageous tale that the audience was left with dropped jaws and eyes wide open in disbelief. His story was so outlandish that they could hardly wrap their heads around it. But the real shocker came when Garth revealed that his unbelievable tale was, in fact, TRUE!

The crowd erupted into wild applause as they realized the magnitude of Garth’s achievement. He had done the semi-impossible at the Peg Leg Liars Contest: Garth won 1st place for telling the truth. 

Garth’s revelation was not just a victory for him but also for the power of imagination and storytelling. It was a testament that sometimes, the truth can be stranger than fiction. And it reminded us that anything is possible at the Peg Leg Liars Contest – even the truth can take on a life of its own.

A Lie Has Speed But Truth Has Endurance

The organizers were left scratching their heads, wondering how to crown a winner when the biggest liar had spoken the truth.

Despite his moment of glory, Garth refused to accept the top honors, citing his scruples. But the organizers could not let such an incredible achievement go unrewarded. They presented Garth with a trophy for “shits and giggles”, a fitting tribute to his unforgettable performance.


Source: Garth Sky Walker

We Asked Burt For Comment....

The surprising victory of a truthful story in a competition of lies
Pinocchio's Cousin

Laughter Never Lies

Garth’s truthful revelation added to the excitement and unpredictability of the event, reminding everyone that anything can happen at the Peg Leg Liars Contest. Garth enjoyed this memorable night with laughter, storytelling, and unexpected twists and turns.

Garth’s truthful lie is just one small yet powerful highlight of the uniqueness of the Peg Leg Liars Contest. It’s a celebration of creativity and imagination, where everyone is encouraged to let their inner storyteller shine. The event fosters a sense of community and camaraderie, bringing together people from all walks of life who love storytelling and are willing to let their imaginations run wild.

The 2023 Peg Leg Liars Contest Winners

The 2023 Peg Leg Liars Contest in Borrego Springs, California, showcased an array of incredibly talented storytellers. In second place was Mark Nitz, also known as ‘Dr. Norman Snibbler,’ who left the crowd in stitches with his captivating and humorous tale. Tied for third place were Alisa McNatt, aka ‘Mrs. Pegleg Smythe,’ and Larry Poole, who went by the moniker ‘Ken Tankerous,’ both delivered thrilling and imaginative stories that kept the audience on the edge of their seats.

The event was masterfully hosted by MC Diana Lindsey, who kept the energy high and the audience engaged throughout the night. But the real star of the night was Jake Richards, aka ‘Faddah Phaque,’ who took home the grand prize and was crowned the ‘biggest liar’ of the year. His creative and wildly entertaining tale had the audience laughing, gasping, and cheering throughout his entire performance, ultimately impressing the Supreme Judge of All Liars, Prevaricators & Truth Stretchers – Big Jim McKenna.

Overall, it was a night filled with laughter, fun, and unforgettable storytelling that won’t be forgotten anytime soon, especially with Big Jim McKenna presiding over the contest.

Lying is like a quicksand, once you step in, it's hard to get out.
Peg Legs Nana

Left to Right

  • 2nd Place – Mark Nitz aka ‘Dr. Norman Snibbler’,
  • Tied in 3rd Place – Alisa McNatt aka ‘Mrs. Pegleg Smythe’,
  • Tied in 3rd Place – Larry Poole aka ‘Ken Tankerous’,
  • MC- Diana Lindsey,
  • 1st Place – Jake Richards aka ‘Faddah Phaque’
  • Supreme Judge of All Liars, Prevaricaters & Truth Stretchers – Big Jim McKenna